South Africa.

(I would like to preface this post with a little note: as this is my first (of many) posts of my travels, I would love your feedback. I have tried to include information as well as photos – a picture does speak a thousand words! – but I would love if you could comment more of what you would like to see from my trips. Thank you!)

This past December I had the privilege of traveling to South Africa, about 2 hours outside of Johannesburg. Since it is in the Southern Hemisphere, it was summer here (a nice warm vacation!).

Being my first time traveling to Africa, I wasn’t really sure what to expect. All that I had to base my expectations on was the movie Blended!¬†However, upon arrival everything about this country was just beautiful.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Pilanesburg Reserve

The views were absolutely breathtaking and the weather was phenomenal.

Safaris

We got to visit a Reserve twice during the stay and the beauty of the nature itself was breathtaking. Seeing this natural environment was moving in a way, you could imagine how nature would be without human interaction.

We also saw a multitude of animals (pictured above: Elephant, Rhino, Leopard, Zebra, Giraffe) – including 4 out of the big 5 (all but the water buffalo). Seeing these animals outside of a zoo in their natural habitat was just spectacular. Their natural beauty was stunning.

The safari’s were not only beautiful, but also exciting and interesting to hear stories from the tour guide and to see how even they continue to get excited when seeing some of these animals.

Lion Reserve

We were also able to visit a reserve with lions, tigers, meerkats, cheetahs and hyenas. We were able learn about the research they were conducting on preserving these species to make sure they don’t become endangered. We were also able to interact with the lion cubs, cheetahs and young hyenas.

After returning from South Africa, I can say that for my first time visiting Africa I had an amazing visit and this country is absolutely stunning. Experiencing this natural beauty of the landscape and animals first hand was absolutely amazing. Moreover, just experiencing this culture and meeting such kind and humble people was a breath of fresh air in our chaotic word today. I definitely recommend this trip if you love nature, animals, kind people, and just overall beauty, and I hope I will one day be able to return!

2 thoughts on “South Africa.

Leave a Reply

